A Clean Slate

Aguas Calientes, Peru. Preparing for Machu Picchu.

There aren’t many times in life that you get a  fresh start.  But that is exactly where I find myself today.

 
Along with dumb luck, Divine Guidance, and some measure of good planning on my part, I have a golden opportunity to begin the next phase of my life with a clean slate.
 
This actually started back in August, the month I retired.   I don’t feel like I’ve been retired though, because my schedule hasn’t slowed down a bit.  This holiday season is not exception either.  Its full of activities and travel.
 
I am quite conscious that I am searching and exploring many opportunities that are open to me now.  The best opportunity is my time!   I now have time to read, study and learn like I haven’t experienced in years.  I’m reading for fun, and I’m reading for growth in many areas.  It’s interesting then that the 2 books I’m reading now are probably the convergence of all the things racing around in my head.  The books are:
 
1.  Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick.  Topic: Audacious Faith in God’s promises and purpose applied to my life.
2.  The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss.  Topic: Work smart; Take many mini-retirements.
 
I don’t want to work just to work.  I want to work doing all the things I love to do, and I want the free time to enjoy the fruits of that labor.  I’ve always been willing to work at any task, whether its manual labor, technical work, or professional services.  It doesn’t matter.  But this time around, I want to work at having people and things work for me, even if I’m not working.  Things like royalties from a book, or delegating work for others to do who are better at it than me, or selling something that pays premiums for a long time to come.
 
This then, is my quest for this new chapter waiting to be written in my life.  Planning and developing a strategy to put all that into one giant vehicle, and drive it around the universe!  I can’t wait to see where this goes!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

