The Urban Vine

I cleared out the afternoon and finally went to visit my friend Sara, owner of  The Urban Vine.  It’s located in the northwest part of Houston.  To be accurate, it’s in Cypress, Texas, but I’ll still call that part of Houston.  Sara started a specialty wine store last year.  I had a real nice visit with her today.

I don’t think WordPress will let me post a website, but it’s urbanvine and then .biz.  Or just search The Urban Vine located in Cypress, Texas.  I’ll try to post it and see if it gets removed or not.    http://www.theurbanvine.biz/

Sara had a nice variety of all kinds of wines.  She picked my brain and came up with a few recommendations for me pretty quickly.  She’s good!  I bought several bottles of wine! I got a Malbec from Argentina, a Cab from California, a Chardonnay from Washington State, plus several others.  Sara says she can’t compete against grocery stores like Kroger and Randall’s, so she carries smaller, lesser known wines.

I have been to many wineries, and was pleased to identify several that I knew were good wines, adding lots of credibility to Sara’s recommendations.  The very first time I went to Napa, my Dad took me to the Pedroncelli winery.  Sara had Pedroncelli’s Sauvignon Blanc featured on a shelf!  I told her of an upcoming trip to Seattle.  Sara suggested I be sure to have Chateau Ste. Michelle’s Canoe Ridge Chardonnay.  I’ve had it a couple years ago and loved it.  I described the buttery, smooth softness of the wine and….Sara pointed over to the wines on display.  There it was!  I grabbed a bottle of that too!  No point paying for shipping back from Washington State now, is there?!

With the trust level high,  I went with a couple of Sara’s other recommendations. I can’t wait to try them.

As with any business owner, Sara says the work in the store is hard, but very rewarding.  Getting away for a week is pretty difficult.  However, getting to taste all those wines and get to share your discoveries with your customers must be fun.  Sara was stuffing bags with bottles of wine for her wine club members while I was there.  It looks like she’s got a pretty good customer base going!

The store is small, intimate and focused.  It’s very easy to browse without getting overwhelmed.  I loved it!

Thanks Sara, for a fun afternoon!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Urban Vine

  1. Carin says:

    It’s in point of fact a great and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply shared
    this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

