Staying on a Budget

Why is it that as soon as I determine to stay on a budget, all kinds of things pop up to try to make me come off of that budget?

I’ve got a weakness for spending money on two things – dining out and dancing.

I love delicious foods as well as the beauty of the presentation of that meal.  Dinner for two ranges from $40 – $100 easily. But, oh! The gourmet combinations of spices, meats, vegetables and breads along with excellent service, too.  Although that service doesn’t always have to come from a high dollar restaurant.  It comes from people who are good at it and take pride in serving their customers.  Good food and good service – definitely a budget buster for me.

Then there’s dance.  Private lessons, floor fees for practice and a night out at a dance club.  Actually, those expenses can be managed.  But combine the incredible lure of a dance competition weekend with travel expenses and entrance fees, and well, it adds up in a hurry.  The pain is lightened a bit if you can’t find roommates to share hotel costs.  Hotel expenses often cost more than airfare to the event.  So sharing is a good way for me to hold down expenses.  Still, dance is a budget buster for me too.

I can refrain from buying cds, or more recently, downloading tunes.  I can limit trips to buy clothes, visits to the dentist, car repairs and home decorating accessories.   But missing out of a great dining experience with friends, or choosing to NOT attend a fabulous weekend of dance, with the best dancers in the world – it’s just not fair!

I wonder if I ever win the lottery if I’d still have to be on a budget.

Probably so.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Dance, Food, Insights, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Staying on a Budget

  1. Ah, Wayne… Some things are definitely worth the sacrifice!

Leave a Reply

