Writer’s Meet-up

I went to my first writer’s meet-up this week.  Since I’m working on a book, I figured I better get as much help as I could.  I didn’t know what to expect.

Exposing yourself to something like an writer’s group can be a little scary.  I introduced myself and everyone seemed pretty nice.  We went around the table again, each member telling what they’re working on.  Some were poets.  Some wrote sci-fi.  One wrote mid-evil fantasy.

The format was this – schedule a time with the group leader to either read your work, or have someone else read it.  Make copies for everyone attending who can read along with it.  Then those who wish, can give the author feedback.

Surprisingly, it was very constructive, appropriate critique, and lots of support to continue or refine your work.

I liked it.  Next, I’ll have to find the nerve to have my work read and critiqued.  That’ll be about as scary as dancing in front of an audience for the first time.  But the process is helpful to bring out the best in whatever it is that a person is writing.  I’d like to get the best out of my story.

Now, back to the hard work of exacting the words, turning a description into a razor-sharp story line.

This is going to be fun!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Books, Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writer’s Meet-up

Leave a Reply

