Fifty Eight

Today is my fifty-eighth birthday.

It’s hard to believe I’m having this much fun, health, love and excitement at age fifty-eight. When I was younger, I remember thinking how old people are when they’re in their 50’s. I’m fifty-eight today. Yet I do not think that I’m old, stuffy, grumpy or dumpy. Instead, I find myself feeling happier, healthier and more at peace than any other time in my life – although let me tell you, my entire life has been very blessed and exciting. So for me to look back on those past years and say that today, I am happier, healthier, more peaceful, more joyful, well – that’s quite a pretty big statement.

I say it with humility too, because Lord knows, I’ve made my share of BIG mistakes too. Living this rich life today makes me so appreciative that the Lord does bless sinners, and He rewards faithfulness. I’m glad that the constant center and pivot point in my life always has been Christ-centered. I wander away, get apathetic, and question divine principles at times, but when it is all said and done, I come back to God. God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. That is the reason I am where I am today. The Lord has had oceans full of mercy on me. I am humbled and exhilarated, both at the same time.

How can I not be exhilarated? I have friends and family, love, good finances, national freedom, travel, sex(yes, 57 year old people have GREAT sex too!) dance and best of all – music. I have music in every aspect of my life. And now after 10 years of training to be a dancer, I can dance to that music too. It is exhilarating to be able to move your body with music and express what it does to my soul. It makes me smile non-stop!

I have good vision which lets me see the most beautiful things on earth: landscapes, beautiful men and women, art, movies and the ability to read too.

I have a wonderful appreciation for taste – whether it’s a great wine, or a wood-smoke grilled steak, a chocolate covered cherry, or an ‘everything bagel with bacon, egg and cheese’. I love it!

My sense of smell takes in honeysuckle, motorcycle exhaust, ozone soaked rain, baby lotion, perfume on a lady’s neck, freshly cut grass, roadkill and garlic bread.

I touch my sweet Patty’s face, her skin and her lips. I feel the body connection during great dances. I feel hot and cold, water and stone, steering wheels and sore muscles after a workout.

I do have to confess to one thing that I was forced to recognize this last year, though. And I don’t want to admit it. However, this year, I did experience a sluggishness in my muscles. I used to be able to run like the wind and start and stop on a dime. This year, I noticed that I wasn’t keeping up with the wind, and I tended to have to warm up my engine before I could start or stop on anything. Now, I allow for that warm up time. I also stretch more to take care of those muscles that may be losing some of their elasticity. I don’t need any injuries. I depend on my body. I am taking care of it in new ways. I’m eating better- keeping a close eye on my weight. I want this body to last a long time!

My prayer and my blessing is this: That the Lord keeps on blessing me like this and that I can be given the chance to give those blessing away to others too, amplifying and pumping them up before I give it out.

I am so grateful for what comes to me from here on earth and what comes from up above.

Fifty eight. It’s going to be even better this year.

58 ( there, I wrote the number. ’58’ just looks older than fifty-eight. Oh well. I’m still just 17 inside)

Rock On!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fifty Eight

  1. Linda Sickinger says:

    Love and appreciate this one, Wayne – a celebration of the good life!

  2. Happy birthday! Hope those stiffening muscles will last you another year, lol.

Leave a Reply

