My Most Frightening Moment

Warning:  The following description might frighten you for two reasons:

1. The actual event

2. A revelation of what goes on in my brain.

Both can be very frightening!  But this one scared me like no other event in my life.

As a kid, I’ve had people jump out from a dark corner and scare the bejeezus out of me. Very funny.

I’ve also done some pretty scary things, one of which was to climb a telephone pole, come to a full, upright and standing position on top of that pole, then jump to catch a ring hanging on a line 8 feet away and plunge to a safe landing in a rock climber’s harness.  This was a management training course that taught lessons on teamwork and trust.  Whether that activity would effectively translate into trust in the workplace or not, I’m not sure.  Anyway, that was scary, – both the jump and the trust part.

When I was little, I’ve hidden from a giant gorilla that I knew was hiding in my bedroom closet even though my parents searched it before turning the lights out.

But the most frightening moment of my life happened just a few years ago.  It still creeps me out.

I was in my bed late at night, sound asleep.  All was quiet and cozy harm when suddenly, I woke up and felt the presence of Evil in the room.  Overwhelming Evil.  Smokey darkness hovered over my bed.  My body temperature swung from icy cold to a burning sweat.  I squeezed my eyes shut.  I could feel spirits swarming just above me as I lay there sweating.  I was frozen with fear.  This wasn’t a dream.  I was wide awake.

My heart was pounding so hard, I thought my chest would explode.  Silly as it was, I pulled the sheets up over my head just like a little kid and curled up in a ball.  I thought I could hide but I knew they were still there, watching, hoping to get me. It was horrible and I knew that demons were circling, waiting to pounce and devour my entire being.  I didn’t dare look.  I couldn’t look!

Now, if I were ignorant of the angelic world, I might have thought the house was haunted, or that I’d disturbed some restless souls in a nearby cemetery.  But I knew better.  As a Believer in Jesus Christ, I knew that demons and angels do exist.  And I believed that these spirits, or demons in this case, really were in the room, watching and waiting for a chance to get at me.  Demons cannot possess the soul of a believer so I took some comfort in that.  However, demons can attempt to assert influence and wage a spiritual war against an advancing Believer and that’s what scared me the most.

I’m not smart enough or strong enough to battle demons.  A great theologian that I studied with for many years, Pastor R. B. Thieme Jr., taught lessons on how to handle this kind of thing.  First of all, don’t attempt to fight the devil.  You’re gonna lose.  Second, put on the full armor of God and let Him fight your battle. So that’s what I did.

As I lay there shaking, waiting for one of these demons to tap me on the shoulder or more realistically, attempt to influence my thinking, I began to pray.  I prayed that God would be present in the room and guard me physically and my soul spiritually, from demonic attack.  I prayed that I not be influenced to drift away from my relationship with Christ.  I prayed that He fill my room with His light, fill it with peace and comfort, with safety and love.  I prayed that he banish these evil spirits and not leave any opening for their attacks.  I prayed that He would take away my fear and restore peace in my heart.

I claimed every promise that I could claim, to trust in Him, to let Him fight the battle, to put up a protective perimeter around me, to bring peace and love over my household.  I asked Him to throw those demons OUT!

Then, I ran a systems check on everything around me – my heart rate; the atmosphere of the bedroom; my spiritual stability.  I seemed to be okay.  Evil seemed to have departed.  Tranquility and safety had returned.  Silence and peace prevailed and I uncovered my head to look around.

It was 3:20 AM.

Today, it still intrigues me that spiritual warfare goes unnoticed during most of my life, even though I understand the concepts.  Though they’ve pulled back, I know that demons still watch and scheme against Believers making progress.   That night, I was scared to death.

On the positive side, it reinforced in my mind the incredible power of prayer. It also reminds me that I never want to drift away from God.  I pray that the tempting, enticing little treats that the devil offers up, will never lure me away.  I want Light, Blessings and Righteousness in my life, not the other!

Wooooooohoooooooo!!!  That was scary!!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

