Crunching Numbers

I’ve been house-hunting ever since my own house sold back in May.  I have several criteria that have to be there in a house, or I’ll eliminate it and move on.  Thankfully, Houston has a multiple listing service that makes it easy to search homes based on your search specifications.

Mine had to have: a) A pool with privacy so my neighbors wouldn’t be peering into the back yard from the 2nd story bedrooms. b) 2 or 3 car garage with room for a motorcycle, c) oversized living rooms for entertaining, and d) a kitchen we would love to cook in.  That really narrows down the market.  Here’s one that even though it was a steal, I ended up rejecting due to location:

REJECTED!

I’m used to living on the north side of Houston. Patty has always lived on the southwest side.  Finding a place that works for both of us is part of the challenge too.  She works near downtown.  I am spending a lot of time driving on the west side of Houston, with frequent trips up north to friends houses.  Right now, the priority is being sure that Patty can drive comfortably to work, and I can have my ‘escape’ home, away from the city and the noise.  I want some elbow room and want out of the congestion.

I haven’t blogged much because I found 2 homes that have come pretty close to meeting all those needs and I’ve spent most of my time crunching numbers and walking through the homes.  Today was intense.  I searched tax records, did comparisons with recently sold properties and did finance calculations on mortgage financing.  (Isn’t that something – I’m debt free, and I am looking at financing a bunch of money.  Geez!)

Along with all that, I sent out my first query letters to two literary agents in hopes of finding  a representative and a publisher for my book.  I got my first rejection letter this morning.  That wasn’t pleasant but thankfully, I was prepared for this and it didn’t hurt as much as I had feared.  Besides, I hate to write about rejection and failure.  So I twist it around into a positive and quote one of Thomas Edison’s famous sayings as he searched for the proper filaments for his light bulb.  Instead of saying how many failures he’d had, he would say, “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10000 ways that won’t work.”

I love that!

That’s my update.  Crunching numbers and sending out ‘feelers’ to get published.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crunching Numbers

  1. CHRISTINE ZIETLOW says:

    Hi Wayne, fun to read your update. You know there will be a bit of ‘compromise’ no matter what house you decide on. Sort of like life! When you see the right ‘place’ you just know. I had my SECOND swing dance lesson. It is so difficult in a big ballroom switching partners every 3 minutes. I will give this a few more tries, but how long before I stop counting in my head? (rock step, one, two three, one two three) ?

  2. I’m so glad you’re giving dance a try. It is HARD! It isn’t easy at all! Switching partners prevents you from getting stuck with a horrible student all night long. It took me several months to just get the hang of it. It took 3 years before I felt like I got it. It took 8 years before I began to feel like I had ‘arrived’ and danced subconsciously. This is a process. Try to enjoy each phase and keep growing. I still take lessons….and I still count. All the time! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

