Eagles, Falcons and Hawks

Red-shouldered hawk

I’ve gotten a real nice surprise working up in the control tower at Sugar Land Airport.  Eagles, Falcons and Hawks fly by daily!  I have missed my birds, having moved back into the suburbs, so getting to see birds again is a real treat.  In this case, big birds!

First I saw the red-shouldered hawk and started watching where it hovered, perched and nested.  Behind the tower is a large wooded park.  One day while watching for hawks, I saw a bald eagle!  In Texas?  Yup, in Texas!  American Bald Eagles range from Texas to Alaska.  I haven’t gotten a photograph of it yet, but I will.  I’m happy to see these giant birds soar across the open fields looking for rodents or fish in nearby ponds.

Then today, I saw this huge bird perched where the hawk usually lands.  It looked different than the eagles I’d seen before, so I grabbed a picture of it with my pocket camera just to get a shot to study.  After a little research, I believe that this is not a juvenile bald eagle but instead, a Crested Caracara which is more closely related to the falcon family.

Crested Caracara

Crested Caracara from Wild About Texas article (click image to go to article)

I’m having lots of fun getting to see all the wonderful wildlife Texas has to offer – right up there in my climate controlled observation tower!  I’m going to start taking my telephoto lenses so I can get better images.  But for now, I’m enjoying getting to know my new winged friends.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Insights, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eagles, Falcons and Hawks

  1. Sweet! We’ve had 2 huge horned owls up on top of the cross at church just hooting away for 2 days now. They have to have a wingspan of about 3 feet at least! Amazing!

Leave a Reply

