Feel Like Dancin’ ?

Saturday night, I had the pleasure of DJ-ing for a West Coast Swing Party at D’Amico Dance Studio.  Being in charge of the music can be fun when it works but it sucks when you blow it.  It was a huge success, but I work hard at being good at it.

You blow it when you don’t play the right songs for your crowd, or when you force your music one someone else.  You blow it when you play songs that don’t make people want to get up and dance; when the floor empties; when you kill the vibe.  But when you nail it, it’s a blast.  Not only do you get to play all of your favorite songs, but you get to set the pace of the party too if you’re lucky. By that I mean, you read the dancers.  Are they energized and ready to keep the energy going?  Do they need a slower song to let their heart rate recover?  Do they need some smooth groove R&B to make the move on some hottie?  Do they need a fresh new song or an oldie?  The DJ has to know that.

Saturday night was another home run.  I can be overly critical and do too much self evaluation perhaps so I’ll admit, I played one that didn’t go over that well.  To fix it I waited for the end of a verse and faded the song out about a minute early and cue-d up a guaranteed winner and got the groove right back on track.  I lucked out.  Other than that one song ( and it was a great song, it just didn’t fit in the list of songs that I was playing. It was out of place.  The audio quality of the song seemed off too, which again tells me, it was not the right song to have played) I know I that I played a great night of dance tunes.

I bet when you hear a few of the songs from my playlist, whether you are a dancer or not, I’ll bet you’ll be movin’ and a groovin’ – guaranteed!  Here’s a list of 5 really good songs that I played at the party, with the music videos below that:

1. Good Times Roll by Shaggy (featuring Ty-Arie)

2. Never Got Enough by Charlie Wilson

3. Callin’ U by Outlandish

4. Moves Like Jagger by Maroon 5

5. Who by Richard Elliot

Try them out at your next party! Here are the tunes:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Dance, Insights, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feel Like Dancin’ ?

  1. Gary Richardson says:

    Good picks. I have played them all at the West Wind (I DJ every Tuesday night there (for free). I just enjoy people having fun dancing and I, too, spend a lot of time thinking about the speed of each song as it sounds and dances to the one before and after. Love it.

  2. I love that feeling! I don’t DJ very often, and usually I’m the last second OMG-we-need-a-DJ-replacement person so I don’t get a lot of time to plan. But my favorite DJ moment was being asked in Dallas to DJ when I showed up to a party and all I had was my ipod. But I DJd for 2 hours, doing my best to watch the crowd and try to get a sense of what they wanted to dance to. And I kept the floor packed the whole time! It was a great feeling!

    • Very cool, Michellle. I think it’s fun to see what other people like. I remember one night Will Carlton was playing late night at Dallas DANCE – I mean, like 3:30 AM. He played a Dave Matthew’s song that was so perfect for the time. No one had ever played that song before and I immediately went over and got the name of it. It made a lasting memory for me. I’m sure you made memories for lots of people that night!

Leave a Reply

