Del Castillo at the Houston International Festival

Several years ago, Patty and I got to see the Austin, Texas based band, Del Castillo for the first time.  When I heard they were playing at Houston’s iFest, I had to make it down there to see them again.

Del Castillo, named after the two brothers Rick and Mark del Castillo, play a latin flamenco style of rock featuring acoustic guitars and strong percussions.  The lead singer, Alex Ruiz, belts out wonderful, growling vocals reminiscent of The Gypsy Kings.

Their songs have been used in the soundtracks of ‘Kill Bill Vol. II’,  ‘Spy Kids 3D’,  ‘Once Upon A Time In Mexico City’,  ‘Sin City’ and ‘GRINDHOUSE’.

Here’s their opening song on a warm, balmy Sunday afternoon in Houston.

El Corrido de Don Lulai

 

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Del Castillo at the Houston International Festival

  1. They are great! I have a friend that knows theme! That is how I got to know about their music…

  2. Sabes? tu y Patty, sois mi envidia, tenéis una vitalidad increíble, siempre estáis dispuestos, mi marido también es así, pero yo siempre tengo excusas para todo, soy muy hogareña, pero cuando me convence y hacemos cosas las disfruto mucho. YO QUIERO SER COMO VOSOTROS, jajajajaja, abrazos para los dos

    You know? you and Patty, you are my envy, you have an incredible vitality, provided you are willing, my husband is so, but I always I have excuses for everything, I am very homely, but when I convinced and do things I enjoy. I WANT TO BE LIKE YOU, jajajajaja, hugs for the two

    • I have been very blessed, Manoli. I have always tried to live as though each day was my last. I do enjoy my down time at home too, but there are so many wonderful things happening around me, I just love being out and immersed in discovering new things. Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

