My Little Pocket Camera

I’ll tell you, I’ve lugged my Nikon D90 SLR camera to many events and loved the results I get, but the weight of that camera and lenses often makes me wish that someone else would carry it for me.  That’s why probably 75% of the time, I take my FujiFilm FinePix, 10 Megapixel pocket camera.  Even if I carry my Nikon, I almost always have my FujiFilm camera anyway.  I’ve had 2 of these in the past 10 years.  It takes fabulous pictures, has great skin tones, and also takes wonderful videos.  It’s inconspicuous and very easy to take candids, close range flash photos, and has an adequate zoom lens built in.  I’ve gone for 3 days without having to recharge the battery with moderate shooting – that is, 300 – 400 pictures for me.

I sometimes sacrifice sharpness in the details and lack of manual focus, but those are the fun challenges when doing this kind of shooting.

It just goes to show, whether you use a professional camera, a pocket camera, or your iPhone, you can get great shots if you apply good photography principles: pre-focus, good composition, anticipate, steady hands during shutter release….and get out there and shoot!

Here’s a few shots I grabbed yesterday at the Houston International Festival (iFest)

Jamaican vendor. (I asked. She agreed.)

Alex Ruiz, lead singer for Del Castillo

Hector del Curto Orchestra with his Eternal Tango dancers

Happy musician ( I used fill-flash on this one)

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Pocket Camera

  1. I tell people is not the camera!!! You got some great shots! I bet if you didn’t post what you used every one would of thought of your Nikond90!

  2. Siempre se dice que no es la flecha es el indio, y yo estoy totalmente de acuerdo con esto, puedes tener el mejor equipo del mundo, el más caro, el más sofisticado y sacar fotografías de penas, ayudar, ayuda claro pero lo importante es el que la lleva, abrazos Wayne

    They always say it’s not the arrow is the Indian, and I totally agree with this, you can have the best team in the world, the more expensive, more sophisticated and take pictures of punishment, help, help clear but it is important the wearer, hugs Wayne

  3. La mirada y los colores de la primera foto me encantan……

    The look and the colors of the first picture I love ……

Leave a Reply

