Writing To God

I’ve taken a break from blogging but I haven’t stopped writing.  I have been writing to God.

Here’s the issue: Every single one of us has an area of strength in our character and an area of weakness.  An area of strength might be a person’s dedication to their family, or that they are sweet and loving, or perhaps they are generous and self-less.  It’s an area in your character where you know you will not be tempted or fail.

An area of weakness may be a tendency to steal, gossip, drink too much, have low self esteem, develop an addiction or even commit a crime of some sort.  In other words, this is where you and I blow it.  The Bible is full of both kinds of stories – those who rise to the top, and those who sank to the bottom, with Moses and David as examples of both.

Whatever the strength or weakness, we all have them and I’m no different.  Facing down one of those weakness, I’ve been writing letters ( not actually mailing them, but nonetheless, writing letters and journaling) to God posing this question:

Why, at the moment of birth, at that critical moment, knowing all that you know- past, present and future-knowing all that could and would happen, knowing how I would succeed and fail, knowing who I would be a blessing to and who I would harm, how could You, at that instant, breathe into my nostrils and give me life?  Why did you do that?

As the Bible verse implies- yes, I am the clay asking the potter why did You make me like this?  Why did you make all of us like this?  And if Jesus Christ is the exception, and did not possess a sinful nature and was a unique being as both true God and true Man, why are the rest of us striving for a lifestyle that by design, is destined to fail, and hurt others, and do damage to ourselves?

I take some pride in the understanding I have of God’s word.  I have been a Bible student all my life.  I’m not ignorant of scriptures, Bible principles, promises and doctrines.  I know and understand them, and I can discuss them with confidence.  Yet, when the Bible lesson is over and the preacher sits down, I reflect on how all of what I just heard, has application in my life.  Faith demands that I accept it.  Reality makes me wonder why.

Have you ever questioned what you have learned?  Have you been taught a truth that is pure, supreme and divine, and actually questioned that principle as it applies to you (or me)?

If God knows that I’d struggle and fail and get up and try and succeed….and fail again, then why did He make me like that?  If He knew that someone would murder, or abuse, or bring evil to another person, why….at the critical moment where He gives life at birth….why would He do it?

So, me and God have been having some words.  I know the steps, the procedures and the means of recovery.  I don’t need a lecture.  I have been restored.  I have peace and prosperity of every kind.  Still, I know my area of weakness and I want to stay on guard against it.  So my prayers are that God will guide me, guard me and grant me super-natural wisdom in times when I’m too stupid to run from trouble.

In the meantime, I humbly wait for my answers.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

In His Matchless Grace,

Wayne

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing To God

  1. Great post! I talk to God on an everyday basis. I ask him so many questions on why this? Why that? Why are so many people evil and do horrible things? and the list can be huge! Yet I feel that sometimes is such a deep thing that we might not even understand it. It can make you a “”NONE BELIEVER” if you are not careful. As for me, some questions are answered and others are just to be let be. The only thing for me is that God is so amazing, powerful and knows the why’s. He tells me as much as I need to know… Peace..

  2. Grandes palabras Wayne, yo también hablo con Dios, aunque algunas veces no tenga respuesta para mí, pero sé que él esta hay, y eso es lo más importante.

    Pd.:¡se te ha echado de menos!, besos

  3. Ann says:

    I know Wayne. I have a tough time on the days that i feel that He takes so much more than He gives – and why on earth He must consider me to be so much stronger than I feel like I am.
    Tough questions you’re asking.

Leave a Reply

