12 Years A Slave

I watched 12 Years A Slave last night.

Although the movie had great acting, I would never recommend it, the same as I wouldn’t recommend Silence of the Lambs, or The Killing Fields or any of those types of movies that portray mankind’s cruelty towards man. Studying it, fighting it, never tolerating it -yes…I’m all for that. But to sit and watch cruelty, beatings, torture, abuse, degeneracy and murders – I just don’t find that entertaining. I appreciate the tremendous acting but….don’t watch the movie. I choose to fill my mind instead with stories of love and compassion, laughter and beauty.

It’s not that they aren’t great movies and provoke taking action to correct and crush evil, but I have a hard time finding ‘entertainment’ in them. As news items, documentaries or criminal investigations they are essential, but as ‘entertainment’ I find them disgusting just like Kill Bill, No Country For Old Men and Wolf of Wall Street. They’re just not good for my soul. They hurt my heart. They injure me. I don’t like that.

I’ll be spending a little more time in prayer this morning.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Insights, Movies, Politics, Theater and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

