Veiled

Istanbul's Ataturk Airport

Istanbul’s Ataturk Airport

Love? Trust? Oppression? Submission? Faith?

For the first time, I saw a woman completely veiled, covered from head to toe, hands covered with gloves too. It evokes so many thoughts and questions.  Most difficult of all is my understanding that this woman is being shielded from other men, from me, saved only for the eyes of her own man.  Not available for me to make conversation with, not appropriate or even permitted that I should have the audacity of striking up a conversation with her, to ask for reasons, to question why.

She is therefore off limits, taboo, set apart and prohibited.  She is guarded.  She is hidden.

Has she submitted freely?  Has she chosen this?  Is she well taken care of?  Is she happy? Is she equal?

Why is her veil, her gloves, her robe so dark, black with perhaps a bit of maroon allowed…..yet at the ankles as she sits, I see blue jeans and grey Nike tennis shoes with a lime green stripe? She taps a message on her white iPhone.  Swipes through her emails….or could it be Facebook?

She remains abstract, ambiguous, faceless.

Yet, her eyes, the window to the soul, peer out like a sentry looking out from a machine gun turret . The eyes look out, not covered. I cannot see the body but I see her eyes – alive and exposed – the windows to her soul.

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Insights, Photography, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veiled

  1. Moya says:

    Hi Wayne living in the Middle East this is a common sight for me. They are many women that cover because they choose to and are very happy with that decision, like one of my sister in-laws who decided later on in life to cover her face when in public. I can never quite understand that but I respect her decision. 🙂

Leave a Reply

