Just Ask

Acropolis; Athens; Greece. Nikon D90

Fashionable Tourist. Acropolis; Athens; Greece. Nikon D90

So many times, I’ve come across interesting people who I’d love to photograph, like this beautiful gal on the top of the Acropolis by the Pantheon. Obviously a tourist, she was striking a pose and was having her friend take her picture.  And since I’ve always got my eye out for a ‘wow’ picture, I saw those red glasses matching her red lips, her gorgeous face and the clean white tank top and …well, I had to ask, “Can I take your picture, too?”

She smiled and said, “Sure”.

More often than you’d realize, people don’t mind and often are quite flattered when you approach them with a happy smile and a polite, respectful attitude.  As a matter of fact, I would say that of all the times I’ve asked, I’ve been turned down less than 4 or 5 times.  Even if I’m turned down or the person isn’t quite sure, I quickly show a couple of my people photos on my iPhone and engage in a quick conversation of why I take pictures.  To capture the moment. To make art. To record the the beautiful things I see.  Sometimes they agree.  Sometimes not.

Don’t let the shot get away from you. Just ask!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

