Turning 62

Went salmon fishing west of Seattle for the first time.  Caught a 20 pound King salmon in rough, open water.  I didn't puke!

Went salmon fishing west of Seattle for the first time. Caught a 20 pound King salmon in rough, open water. I didn’t puke!

Today is my 62nd Birthday.  It used to seem like that was really old but now that I’m here, I don’t feel that old.  Sure, I can feel a little sluggishness in my muscles, especially after an hour drive in the car.  Sure, I have a few more wrinkles and a little less hair.  And sure, I take naps. But overall, I’m blessed with very good health and a very good life.  It baffles me too, sometimes, but there are things that I am certain that add to the good life I’m enjoying today on my birthday.  I’d like to share what I’ve learned.   Here they are – short and sweet.

Move.

You gotta move.  You cannot become sedentary.  You must turn off the TV. Get off of Facebook.  Get out of the kitchen and move.  Stretch. Exercise. Walk. Dance. Swim. Bend. Reach up high. Get out of the house.  Take the stairs, not the elevator.  You HAVE to move.

Grow.

Grow in every aspect of your life: mentally, spiritually, emotionally, physically. Learn new things. Read good books.  Go to night school.  Learn a new language.  Travel to a foreign country. Talk to interesting people. Go to church.  Feed your soul. Meet new people. Consider a different approach to a problem. Get advice.  Take a dance lesson.  Cook a new recipe.  Take a different way home or to work. Watch YouTube to learn how to do a card trick.  Take a flying lesson. Go to a doctor.  Address your health concerns. Continually challenge  yourself with new and different things.  Constantly grow.

Be Kind.

Kindness. It’s a mental attitude.  The other person doesn’t deserve it.  They don’t ask for it and they don’t expect it. Just be kind anyway.  Give generously.  Be patient. Open a door for someone. Smile. When you talk with someone, touch them.  Listen and keep eye contact.  Play with a child. Visit a lonely person.  Pay for someone’s meal at a fast food place.  Wipe down the sink in the public restroom before you leave.  It’s a conscious decision that is counter-culture.  Be kind.

Love.

Be loving.  Be in love. Love something. Love someone. Love God. Love music.  Love even when you aren’t feeling loved.  Love this day. Love this meal.  Love this country. Love and fail, love and fall and love again. Get back on your feet and keep loving.  Love your neighbor.  Find love. Pursue love. Make love.  Give love.  Be love. Love.

Amen!

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Dance, Food, Insights, Photography, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turning 62

  1. Janice Abraham-Victor says:

    Well said..and Happy Birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday, Wayne! And many many more…

  3. Robin says:

    I really enjoyed this. I’m right behind you, so it hit home for me!! Well done:)

Leave a Reply

