Impact At Taos

So I’m snowboarding at Taos – not on nice freshly fallen snow but on hard packed ice- and very steep slopes, trying to catch my groove but my edges just weren’t digging in very well. I’m slipping and trying to swing my board around pointing a little more downhill, when I picked up a little more speed than I wanted. So this stone is sitting on top of the snow/ice in the middle of the trail – must have slid down the rocky edge to my left- and I couldn’t avoid it, so I hit it…and BOOM! Down I go.

Now, I’d like to say that I looked like those Olympic volleyball athletes diving for a low ball and sliding on their tummy ( at least that’s what I think I looked like) but the reality is there seems to have been about a 10 foot vertical catapult followed by….have you ever seen a pigeon chasing another bird and one of them hits a big glass window and down it went, knocked out cold, laying on the ground? Well, I’m not saying I got knocked out, but the impact on my chest, ribs and stomach was tremendous. It hurt like hell! I’m not saying I cried but I did snot-drool, whimpered, grimaced, took deep breaths until my diaphragm caught up with the air that might have been knocked out of me. Not saying it did, not saying it didn’t. But it hurt like a m*therf$cker!

I got back up, sissy boarded down the rest of the slope, went into the bar, bought a beer, then took these deceptive selfee’s looking like I had a great time.

F*ck Taos!

 

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impact At Taos

  1. Nancy says:

    you should have come to Nambe for dinner :^)……hope you had a good trip back home

Leave a Reply

