October Road Trip – Day 3 – Covered Bridge

Mom and I got up early Wednesday morning.  She wanted to visit the Headley Whitney Museum ( http://www.headley-whitney.org/index.html ).  It’s about 15 miles west of Lexington and a pretty drive out in the country.  I wasn’t that crazy about going to see gems and jewelry that the George Whitney had in the museum but as with most of the things I do with low expectations, I was happily surprised.

George Whitney designed jewelry in the 1940’s and had a boutique in the Hotel Bel-Air, selling to all the movie stars including Joan Crawford and many more.  His collection of jewelry and nicknacks was extraordinary.  Along with that, the museum had an exhibition of chinese ceramics, asian lacquer paintings, doll houses and a scale model of a pavilion in the Emperor’s Forbidden City in Beijing.   For $5.00, it was well worth the visit.  We were about the only people there, so we ended up getting a personal tour of the private collections.

Then Mom and I strolled around the grounds taking pictures.  We got a restaurant recommendation and headed for Wallace Station, an old train station or general store that has been turned into a gourmet deli and sandwich shop.  (I later found out that it was featured on the Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives TV show too.) I had the Black Forest ham on thick sliced, home made rye bread with brie cheese, green apples and spicy mustard, then lightly grilled.  Oh my goodness that was good!  But best of all,  an elf-looking fella poked his head out of the back room and before he even realized it, I’d snapped a photo and captured a real character !  I wonder if he was the owner?

An interesting man at the Wallace Station Shop in Kentucky

I needed to complete my drive up to Ohio, so I dropped mom off at home, grabbed my bags and off I went.  But…I overheard someone talking about the covered bridges and as best as I can remember, I’ve never seen a covered bridge before, so I had to add that to my trek.

Twenty miles north of Lexington and about 5 miles west of Paris, Kentucky, is an old country road that leads to the recently restored covered bridge.  I Googled it and the directions were accurate.  When I drove up and parked on the side of the road to snap some photos, I guess I interrupted a couple’s rendezvous because somebody’s bare butt scrambled to get their clothes back on behind their Jeep Cherokee. I thought they might have just gone swimming, but by the sheepish grins on their faces, it must have been more than a skinny dip!

Covered Bridge near Paris, Kentucky. Bridges were covered in the old days to protect the timber from rain and sun so they would last longer.

Anyway, I shot my pictures, inspected the interior beams, drove across it, then got on my way back to the Interstate.  These back roads would be great for a motorcycle ride with all the twisting turns and rolling hills.  I’ll have to ride the Harley up here next time.

The problem with side trips like this is that it messes with my timetable and the next thing I knew, I was in rush hour at Cincinnati.  There was construction on the bridges that cross the Ohio river too. I lost some time there but eventually got back up to 70 mph and was on my way.

I drove 4 more hours pretty steady, arriving at my sister’s house by 10:00PM.  I was supposed to make the drive up to my sister’s house in North Royalton, Ohio in about 6 hours however I drove about 8 hours total for the day.  Not counting the morning with Mom.  Pretty full day.

I visited with my niece, unpacked, played computers, uploaded some photos and then hit the hay.  I slept like a baby too!

End of Day 3

About Wayne to the Max

Active writer, dancer, traveler, Christian and father, aviation enthusiast, photographer, music lover and a DJ, hiker, Harley driver and fine wine drinker. My digital photo artist page: www.WayneToTheMax.com
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and Destinations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to October Road Trip – Day 3 – Covered Bridge

  1. Wayne,

    You’re really having a wonderful time! If you like covered bridges, you should one day venture up to Vermont.

Leave a comment